Wednesday, last day in Penang

Today was an exciting day

The funicular railway up to Penang Hill reopened after maintenance works, so that was my destination, but even more exciting than that, I was going to visit the Owl Museum up the hill!!!!!

But before even that could happen I was getting a hair cut! For the first time in 6 years someone other than the lovely Thierry was going to cut my hair. I love him so much, I show up and he cuts my hair, often doesn’t even pretend to ask what I want doing with it, he always has a plan and it always looks great. I’d got back to the hostel yesterday and a new sign had gone up advertising haircuts from an american lady called Miss Lash – slightly dodgy name, but the hostel called her for me and it was going to cost between £7-10, so it was worth a try…… Had to be less risky than going to someone who only cuts Asian hair and cheaper than in NZ. So we met, set up in the courtyard of the hostel, dunked myself under the shower and she set to work with the instructions of nothing to crazy – she seemed to know what she was doing!! Happy with the end result, although I think it much shorter than it was, I’m not sure, but apparently my hair sits beautifully along the hairline at the back…. she was excited, I have no idea!! Unfortunately it appears little bity things live in the courtyard and they liked my ankles – soooooo itchy.

I also got my washing back, 11RM for 8 tops 3 trousers all pants and socks and swimming cossie – bargain!

With the domestic stuff out of the way it was time to get the bus to Penang Hill, thankfully the end of the route so I could just sit and admire the view! We passed a Chinese cemetery and sadly it looked rather uncared for.

We reached the hill and I got my ticket to go up in the train – the plan had been to train up and walk down via the Botanical Gardens, but it was hot and I just couldn’t be bothered, so got a return! I got in the queue and discovered I was stood behind 2 of the Dutch from the night before – such a small world! We all sat at the back of the train and had the best view or us whizzing up the hill – it made your ears pop! Not the view, the rise in altitude!!
image

image

I got to the top and wandered in ahead of the guys as they were taking loads of photos and I had owls to see – I paid my 2RM, got a sticker, went down some stairs and was not disappointed, some crazy collector has collected a ton of owls and put them all there – the museum is in the Guinness Book of Records as the first Owl Museum in Malaysia – could it be the only in the world?? Was amazing, I went round twice to get the full feel. The couple before me were accosted by a guide and given ‘the tour’ while I chuckled away listening and then was joined by 2 Americans, the man clearly didn’t want to e there, but was enjoying it for the spectacle, his wife rescued wild animals in NYC and had dragged him in. We exchanged a few comments and I headed off for a second pass!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Sad to leave the museum, they had some owlsome tshirts, you should all be glad I have no more room in my luggage!!

I headed off for a walk around the top, up to an hindu temple that’s there – for the workers who were housekeepers etc where I bumped into the Dutch again and then off along one of the roads admiring the views of Penang and the cottages up there as I went.
image

image

image

image

image

I sat for a while on a bench under a tree and read more of the book someone suggested I read – The Gift of Rain – its set in Penang and having been there for 6 days the locations are all v familiar making it an even more interesting read.

image

As I walked back to the train I heard a rustling overhead – it was a monkey with her baby, I grabbed my camera and managed to get a photo, then more appeared and I got a great shot of one, unfortunately the bity things were also up here and they attacked my arms while I waited patiently for the monkey/tree to be in the right position……

There was more ear popping on the return journey and the bus back was uneventful. I headed back to the hostel and packed most of my stuff then headed out for dinner for more Indian food – was time to get my dosa!
image

image

image

It was super yummy!! I also had some okra – they guy said a dosa was just a starter really – he lied, but I ate everything!!

I waddled back to the hostel for a snooze, then a shower, finished packing and headed downstairs to away the bus

Leave a Reply

