Friday – an Ant in Bangkok

I’d arranged to meet Ant at the BTS station at the end of my road at 10am.

So was up and in the gym just after 8am. The gym isn’t massive, 2 treadmills, 2 elliptical things and 1 bike, there was only the bike free so on I got! The cardio machines are cool, all programmable but also have internet access!! So I cycled and caught up on the BBC website – hadn’t really seen the news in ages, Facebook has kept me caught up with anything super important.

As I type it occurs to me that I have no idea what’s going on with the protests here in bangkok, obviously I’ve not seen anything since I’ve been here, but odd to be in a city with stuff going on and not seeing any of it – bit like the riots in London a few years ago.

Back to the gym, I did some weights, walking lunges, ab stuff, stretched and headed for breakfast….

OMG the choice for breakfast is immense. Cereal, toast, fruit, pastries, cheese, meat, noodles, rice, waffles, pancakes and an omelette station! I only had 2 plates of food, but I certainly had my fill – there was cheese!!! And pancakes and maple syrup and a lot of coffee. I left full as can be and took a muffin for later!

My excitement for the morning did not end there, the shower – so much hot water and at amazing pressure, and copious amounts of shower gel/shampoo and 2 towels and a shower mat and a mirror – so many luxuries I’ve missed!!!! I even treated some clothes to a shower wash!

By the time I’d finished luxuriating in what 2 months ago would have just been a shower it was time to head out to meet Ant. I was just picking up my bag when the phone rang, Ant was early and in the lobby – this never happens!!

We went for a walk to find him some breakfast – I didn’t even have room for a coffee, I’d already had to walk away from the rest of mine at the hotel, I literally could not fit another mouthful in! But I happily sat and watched him eat at a cool looking place along the road called Suk 11 – food looked good so decided to return for dinner.

We walked further and turned down a side street to find somewhere for coffee. We settled on a place on a corner – brilliant for people watching, they also had very fetching salt and pepper holders and philosophical sugars

image

image

image

image

image

image

After the coffee Ant had to get back so we said our goodbyes and I walked back to the hotel in time to get a message from Nikki about skyping, so we did – for well over an hour!

Then it was pool time, before I sat down I decided to go for a swim – brrrrrrr the water was cold, until you got in and swam around for a bit! The pool is longer than Nicola’s as it took more than 20 breaststrokes/length but still did my 10 lengths if not more. Was interrupted half way through by chatting to some random men – also from London and also know Finsbury Park – such a small world!

image

image

I went out for dinner after another fab shower, even blow dried my hair!!!! Dinner was at Suk 11 – I had Thai green curry and sticky rice, it would have been rude not to! Did have a sad moment though when they cleared the other set of cutlery etc away.…

image

image

On the walk back at the hotel I realised why I’d seen so many VW camper vans around – they were converted to bars in the evening!

image

image

When I got back I settled into bed and watched Johhny Depp in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory before listening to the new Abandoman podcasts http://abandoman.podbean.com – awesome Friday night!

Leave a Reply

