Friday – hello Battambang!

Another early start but with noodles for breakfast I was ready for the day!

The journey from Phnom Penh to Battambang was scheduled to take 5 hours, and it was! All good except for the minibus being chock full and the WiFi not working, but there was an explanation for that
image

I’d emailed the guesthouse in advance and they were sending a tuk tuk for me – will be my plan every time from now on, saves the barrage of tuk tuk and hotel offers on arrival and it’s nice to have a cheery face to meet you!

There be Dragons is across the river from the main part of town, but only a 5/10 minute walk, so hardly far!

Got shown my bunk and was ready for food – coconut soup with veg
image

And cashed in my free beer token before I lost it!

Got talking to the guy who half owns the place and Rhiannon a co-dorm roomee! Got on to Kampot and the pepper rum when he offered us both a free shot of chilli vodka – he was v disappointed that I liked it!

Bit later the guy starts cleaning the beer line, so we both got free beer too! I was feeling very at home 🙂

I needed to get washing done so Rhiannon was appointed my guide and we headed into town to find a launderette. Sure enough my washing weighed 1.5kg again and would be ready the following day.

We had a potter around the market – far less touristy than I’ve seen so far and then wandered back for dinner and more beer!!!

2 thoughts on “Friday – hello Battambang!

Leave a Reply

