Wednesday – a pottering day

I’d kept my moto for another day as we didn’t get the chance to stop very much as we were driving along, so I wanted to potter around at my own pace.

Had a lazier start to the morning. Back to Captain Chims for veg noodles for breakfast, booked my bus ticket to Phnom Penh, stocked up on water, topped up the petrol and then off

image

First stop old railway station! Being one of the sights of Kampot it was rather disappointing. The railways no longer run although loads of track is still in existence
image

image

image

My plan was then to retrace our steps from yesterday, but got distracted and went over the ‘new bridge’ as we’d only been over the ‘old bridge’ yesterday. I then swung a right and headed along the river.

I’d timed it (purely by chance) for what’s become my favorite part of the day – lunch time at school – hordes of them leave on their bikes, motos and on foot, a mass of white shirts/blouses stream along the street. Tried to take photos to capture it, but failed!

image

There were loads of amazing views as I drove along, stopped frequently for photos.

image

image

image

image

image

Eventually I passed a hydroelectric station which I’d vaguely read about over breakfast, then the zoo, then realized where I was! On the road to Tuek Chhou Rapids, kind of a national park, again reading TripAdvisor people were saying how it wasn’t worth the effort etc etc, but here I was, so I paid my $1 and in I went, the river was v pretty, but everywhere is here! Drove past the area I assumed the rapid area was on up to the dam, which people say has spoilt the rapids, but apparently they open the dam everyday to make sure there’s water there to swim in.

image

image

image

You couldn’t really see the dam so I came back and picked myself a hut/hammock for a rest, cursed myself for bringing the bare minimum with me – ie no book – but contented myself listening to the children playing in the water, families having lunch and the dogs playing and hunting for food scraps. Was just dozing off when I was woken to pay 2000reil for my hammock, but still managed to doze away!

image

Eventually it was time to find some food, I’d driven out past a lot of the riverside guest houses I’d seen on our boat trip and one of them is where my friends were staying, so even though I knew they were out I went to have a nose and my first Amok.

image

image

image

image

Then it was time to finish getting the photos I wanted – the roundabouts! Seems to be a thing here that there’s a statue of something on each one – think it’s to do with a lot of Cambodians not being able to read/have maps, so they navigate by landmarks

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

In the evening I met up with my friends at the rusty keyhole for ribs – they’re famous for them and they were delicious. Then it was time to say our goodbyes and for me to pack ready for tomorrow.

image

image

Leave a Reply

