Tuesday in Malacca

Tuesday turned into a mass outing to a free guided walk along the Heritage Trail. It’s run with government funding by the tourist office. After signing our liability wavers (making us wonder quiet what they had in store for us) we headed out to learn about the Dutch and Bristish influences on the city, their forts (Dutch) and admin buildings (British). They are clearly very proud of their UNESCO status and it’s allowing them to conserve/restore many of the buildings.

image

image

image

image

image

image

The afternoon everyone went their separate ways but most planning on ending up at the coffee shop they’d been recommended and I went to earlier in the week!
image

I took myself on an adventure to book my bus ticket back to the airport – there was no way I was spending an extra 5RM for someone to do it (that’s £1.…..) I had to go to the medical centre and apparently I could book it there. It was only a 10 min walk and I had my trusty umbrella with me! Taking advantage of a shopping centre air con I spotted a supermarket.

Having spotted myself in the mirror earlier I had decided it was time for some kind of hairbrush to be purchased – I settled for a 1.69RM pink comb! Closely followed by some cotton buds, 100+, Nips and some biscuits – all for the journey tomorrow, well, apart from the cotton buds!

Anyway, got to the medical centre and couldn’t see a bus ticket person, but the kind reception staff showed me round the corner and there he was, a lovely man who sold me my ticket for the 8am bus and told me to be there 20mins early.

In the evening we all agreed to go for dinner at a traditional Baba/Nyonya restaurant called Riverine, we got there and I realised it’s where I’d stopped for lunch on the first day! I’d made a good choice! Again the food was yummy and it was a lovely evening 8 of us sat by the river.

image

image

The others went off for dessert but I headed back to pack and get ready for the morning.

Leave a Reply

