NHM Wildlife Garden

20130914-101613.jpg

I am such a lucky girl. I am spending my Saturday looking after the sheep in the Wildlife Garden at the Natural History Museum in London.

I volunteer in the garden and over the summer we have sheep – 3 in fact – Honey, Bella and Bee.

They have a meadow to roam around, access to the chalk downs that have been created here and a lovely shed for sleeping in at night.

This morning I walked though the museum before it was open to the pubic – so quiet and how empty the main hall was – apart from one rather large dinosaur!

20130914-104727.jpg

The sheep heard me coming, I could hear them getting ready to head for the meadow as I arrived.

This is their hut, and we had time for a quick photo before I fully opened their gate

20130914-105010.jpg

20130914-105025.jpg

Once in the meadow they immediately started eating – they rarely seem to stop! One of them started to have a good scratch against one of the trees and out the corner of my eye I spotted a fox running away – sad not to have had a chance to get a better look.

Once the sheep seemed settled I headed to the hut where the office is. I was contemplating a cup of tea when the birds on the bird feeder caught my eye – Some really pretty goldfinches while on the floor eating the bits they’d dropped was a mixture of squirrels and tiny mice – tried and failed to get any pics, they move far too quickly!

Did manage to get a good cluster (what do you call a group of mushrooms?) of mushrooms

20130914-105705.jpg

I was then joined by 2 guys from the front of house here to keep an eye on visitors to the garden. One of them made me this

20130914-105811.jpg

Any ideas what it’s made from?

More later, I’m off to check they’ve not escape!

2 thoughts on “NHM Wildlife Garden

Leave a Reply

