It’s like Piccadilly Circus there…..

Aaages ago Gray and I had been chatting about what I was going to wear to run the marathon (currently who knows with this crazy weather) but he said if I got a shirt he’d get my name printed for me. I’d forgotten all about it until he reminded me last night. So today, after doing a bit of work, I did a quick search on the sports direct website to see whether it was worth me popping out at lunch time – and as great mind think alike I got a text from Gray saying he was in town – did I know what I wanted!

A shopping trip was promptly arranged and off to Piccadilly and Lillywhites we went!

Piccadilly Circus - I've been in London over 5 years now and still find myself saying (to myself today) "it's like Piccadilly Circus around here" and it's still as funny as it ever was......
Piccadilly Circus – I’ve been in London over 5 years now and still find myself saying (to myself today) “it’s like Piccadilly Circus around here” and it’s still as funny as it ever was……

Lillywhites used to be a lovely purveyor of sporting goods – had a royal warrant and everything!

Lillywhites - I've cut out the bargain basement signs below....
Lillywhites – I’ve cut out the bargain basement signs below…. oh, or I thought I had

Now a days sadly it’s still called Lillywhites but is Sports Direct by another name…… a shame but super handy for cheap sportswear.

In the end I’ve gone for a man’s running vest – the ladies were all strappy tops – unlikely to be warm enough for that, or T shirts with high neck line – I’m more of a V neck/plunging/room to breathe girl myself. White with a bit of blue and will be able to wear a T shirt underneath if it’s hot/warm/freezing…..

Gray very sweetly treated me to it and is getting my name printed on too – very excited to have sorted 1 item of clothing for 12 days time (so glad we’re not in single figures yet!)

On the bus back to work I spotted a dragon on the wall by Chinatown – is it the year of the dragon?? Looked pretty cool anyway!

Grrrrrr dragon!
Grrrrrr dragon!
6 thoughts on “It’s like Piccadilly Circus there…..

  1. I remember when I worked in London back in 1985 (yes I am that old) that Lilywhites was the place to go and very expensive, I used to go in and LOOK! Well done for sorting your kit a bit. I have opted not to put my name on my shirt this year, by the time I got to the embankment last time I got fed up with people shouting out my name! I am a miserable cow!

    Like

Leave a Reply

